Friday, May 11, 2012

Friday Mega Mixtape Grab Bag

Happy Friday everyone!  I am beyond excited because two weeks from tomorrow, I will be heading to Movement Electronic Music Festival in Detroit (DEMF).  Expect to see a preview of the festival and some artist features as DPC prepares to do DEMF.

Glitter Graphics | 

Sometimes the hardest part about writing a blog post is trying to decide what mix that I want to write about.  Weeks like these, where a ton of great mixes come out, make it nearly impossible to decide.  Rather than trying to pick just one, I decided to post all of my favorite mixes from this week in a Mega Mixtape Grab Bag.  There is more than enough music within this post to help you dance your way through the weekend.  Enjoy!

After the Jump...

A.N.D.Y. released his third mix tape earlier this week.  Don't let the nu-disco flavor of the opening track (Finnebassen's "If You Only Knew") fool you.  This mix gets really deep and really teched out towards the middle.  Also, check out the new EP Traffic that A.N.D.Y. and Vicente released today.

1. Finnebassen : If You Only Knew
2. John Monkman Feat Morgan Mackintosh : Kiss Me
3. Punks Jump Up feat. Dave 1 : Mr. Overtime (Oliver Remix)
4. Chase Bush : Polly Molly
5. Crookers feat. Style Of Eye : That Laughing Track (Sona Vabos Remix)
6. Nina Kraviz : Ghetto Kraviz (Amine Edge Edit)
7. Osunlade : Envision (Argy Vocal Mix)
8. Alex Metric : Rave Weapon
9. Surkin feat Ann Saunderson : Lose Yourself (Brodinski Remix)
10. Foamo : Ocean Drive

James Hillard of Horse Meat Disco released RollerDisco Mix on Tuesday.  This mix has a great old-school disco vibe so strap on some skates and funk-up your Friday.

After taking a break from a monthly mixtape in April, Friends of the blog, Drop Out Orchestra, released their May Mixtape this week.  This mix is choc-ful of brand new tracks that are sure to make you move.  DOO will be releasing their It Will Never be the Same Again EP on May 21 on Eskimo Recordings.  It will feature a new DOO track "Sun Machine" as well two remixes of "It Will Never be the Same Again," both of which are featured on this mix.

01. Drop Out Orchestra feat. The Reverb Junkie - Sun Machine
02. NSFW - Let U Go (Dropouts Gonna Beat Dis Edit)
03. A.N.D.Y. & Vicente - El Barrio (The Supermen Lovers Remix)
04. Drop Out Orchestra - It Will Never Be The Same Again (Moullinex Remix)
05. Zombies In Miami - Heartache
06. Astrolabe - Cave Disco (Discotexas Edit) Hot Rod Mash-up by DOO
07. Gossip - Perfect World (Rory Philips Remix)
08. Dato - Set Me Free (Drop Out Orchestra Remix)
09. Debonair - Your Love
10. Dublin Aunts - Heartbreak Reputation (Drop Out Orchestra Remix)
11. Shit Hot Soundsystem - Charlotte
12. Drop Out Orchestra - It Will Never Be The Same Again (Punks Jump Up Remix)
13. Just Kiddin - Paloma (Bit Funk Remix)
14. Punks Jump Up - Mr Overtime (Club)

LANCELOT not only gave us the third installment of his KnighTime mix series this week, but also released a new remix.  Check out his remix of Catcall's song "The World is Ours" here.

Tensnake - Congolal
Perseus - Seychelles
Softwar - This Time Around
Lancelot - Daphnis the Nymph
Art Department - We Call Love feat. Soul Clap & Osunlade
Moustache Mamas - 21 & Lewis
Stephane Deschezeaux - 1982
Catcall - World Is Ours (Lancelot Remix)
Disco Stu, John Monkman - Don't Have To Be Beautiful
NTFO - Policrom (Audiojack Remix)
Adana Twins - Strange

Another mix that was released this week was Daft Funk VII by Cyclist and Pat Lok.  This "Ball so Hard" mini-mix features a nice mix of old and new tracks and was released to celebrate this Canadian pair's first mini-US tour. 

On Tuesday, The Legendary 1979 Orchestra released their Retrospective All Starrs Promo Mix.  This mix is meant to promote the Retrospective All Stars Vol 1 Compilation that came out on Monday and features The Legendary 1979 Orchestra's track "On & On & On."

Black Magic Disco - First Avenue [Pole Position]
Softwar - This Time Around [Future Classic]
Mudegg - Vicious [Retrospective]
The Legendary 1979 Orchestra - The Living [ISM]
Manolo - Night Rhythm 11 [Dikso]
Emeron & Fox - Dopecity (The Legendary 1979 Orchestra Remix) [Silhouette, forthcoming]
Kraak & Smaak - Hold Back Love ft. Lex Empress (Lovebirds Remix) [Jalapeno]
The Legendary 1979 Orchestra - On & On & On [Retrospective]
Rudimental - Spoons ft. MNEK & Syron [Black Butter]
FCL - Used To Be [We Play House]
Maxxi Soundsystem - Inside The Count [Wolf]
NY Stomp - NY House Trak (Nicholas Basement Dub) [Illusion]
Gerry Read - 90's Prostitution Racket [Records Are My Pillow]

Figure of 8 released MIX 005 on Tuesday as well.  This "Wormfood" mix comes with the following description, "Last night i had a nightmare involving people covered in slime diving through soil, luminous green worms, and a man with the third eye. Armed with a broken snooker cue I entered the 7 levels of hell." It always makes me snicker when people from the UK call pool, snooker.  Despite the strange description, the mix itself is very enjoyable.

My roommate Nick recommended this next mix to me yesterday.  He said "this mix ROCKS, a recipe for summer fun."  He's a huge nerd.  I don't know too much about Sonic Soul Productions, but this mix is filled with some great Nu-Disco.

Becca recommended DFA Radiomix #23 by Jee Day.  I haven't had the chance to listen to this one yet, but lets be honest, if Becca likes it, it has to be good.  That sentence also could have said "I haven't had the chance to listen to this one yet, but lets be honest, its DFA, so it has to be good.

Here are a few more mixes that I enjoyed this week:

1. Cosmonaut Grechko – Headphone Girl
2. Michael Jackson – Liberian Girl (Master Chic Edit)
3. Mr. Mister – Broken Wings (Dunkan Disco Filter Edit)
4. Deadly Sins – Gave Me Love
5. Eric Benet – Georgy Porgy (Soulspy George Benson Remix)
6. The Glue – Broken Heart
7. Paskal & Urban Absolutes – Still In Love
8. Osmose vs. Central Living – Everyday I SLOMO
9. The BB&Q Band – Dreamer (Elias Tzikas Remix)
10. The Treatment – Waves
11. Seva K – My Love
12. JSquared- Wan Wan
13. Ollie & Jerry – Aint No Stoppin Us Now (The Metaphysical Re-Edit)
14. Willie Graff, Tuccillio – Set Me Free
15. Karmon – Solarbeam
16. Midi Matilda – Day Dreams (MyKill Remix)
17. Rhode & Brown – Don’t Change (Nils Penner Deep Remix)
18. Giuseppe Di Granados – My Life With The Queen

Well, that may have been the longest DPC post on record and should keep you occupied for quite some time.  If you are in the area tonight, be sure to head over to 9:30 Club Backbar to see DPC's own William Devon hit the decks with Mr. Bonkerz at Shenaniganz. Check out our Event Page to see what other dance parties are going down around Disco City (thats what DC stands for, right?) this weekend.  

No comments:

Post a Comment