Thursday, October 6, 2011

Edit Murphy..Someone to watch out for!

Summer is over...but the barrage of hot mixes is not!

The C90's October Chart Mix brought some serious heat! There was a track in particular, Edit Murphy's "Mercy" that caught me off guard. It's a Deep Disco take on Marvin Gaye's "Mercy, Mercy Me", and it is done exceptionally well. I absolutely love the groovin' bassline, the funky twang of the guitar riff, the faint vocal harmonies, and the glitch effect added to the beat here and there, reminding you that this song has been contemporized. I had to rewind the mix a little to hear it again! Well after a bit of Soundcloud sleuthing, I came across Edit Murphy's page. Lucky for us, Edit Murphy has free EP available for download, entitled MoTown Edits Vol. 1:

Along with " Mercy", there is a super sexy House'd down take on Bill Wither's "Lovely Day" and another sexy RnB/Disco edit (not sure on the

"I Need More Please" was the feeling I was left with:

Well, Edit's got a Deep Disco/House mix (their first!) to hold us over until their upcoming release by way of Smoke N'Mirrors. One of tracks, "Brooklyn Lights" is included, so keep your ears open. This mix is deep and sexy, with massage oil slick mixing ;) Hopefully, this stuff is an indication of what's to come! Enjoy!

1. Daniel Wang - Like Some Dream (I Can't Stop Dreaming) [Rush Hour]
2. Motor City Drum Ensemble - L.O.V.E. [K7! Records]
3. Tornado Wallace - Whispering Twirl [Delusions Of Grandeur]
4. Clockwork - It's You Again [Hot Creations]
5. Francis Orchestra Inferno - Time For Tea [Wolf Music]
6. Fantastic Man - From Start To Scratch [Melbourne Deepcast]
7. Andy Ash - Dime Piece [Home Taping Is Killing Music]
8. Savile & Olin - Horizon [CD-R]
9. Lewie Day - Some Kind Of Man [Melbourne Deepcast]
10. Edit Murphy - Brooklyn Nights [Smoke N' Mirrors]
11. Nicholas - Where I've Been [Home Taping Is Killing Music]
12. Human Life - In It Together (Louie Fresco 4Play Vocal Mix) [Defected]
13. Medlar - Terrell [Wolf Music]
14. Be - When You Left [Prime Numbers]

No comments:

Post a Comment